Ghanaian lawmakers trade blows in Parliament

A scuffle broke out in Parliament on Monday midnight, with members of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) and the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) punching each other.

The tumultuous scene erupted during a vote on whether the contentious Electronic Transfer Levy Bill, also known as the E-levy, should be taken under a certificate of urgency.

Members of the Minority Caucus (NDC) attempted to seize the Speaker’s chair in order to prevent the Second Deputy Speaker, Andrew Amoako Asiamah, the Independent MP from Fomena, from occupying it after the First Deputy Speaker, Joseph Osei-Wusu, resigned.

The First Deputy Speaker had given notice that he was resigning from the Speaker’s chair in order to vote as MP for Bekwai, a decision that did not go down well with the NDC MPs.

The NDC lawmakers, led by A.B.A Fuseini (Sagnarigu Constituency) and Edwin Nii Lante Vanderpuye (Odododiodio Constituency), approached the podium and attempted to take the Speaker’s chair, but were stopped by members of the Majority Caucus.

A scuffle broke out between the rival lawmakers, which escalated into full-fledged fisticuffs.

People in the public gallery were perplexed as parliamentary security officers poured onto the House floor to quell the commotion.

The House had to be adjourned abruptly due to the situation.

Political tensions in the House have been high since the December 7, 2020 elections resulted in a hung parliament, with no dominant party to push through government business, including budget approvals.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.