UN Security Council Admits Ghana to Body

A flag-raising ceremony was held at the United Nations Headquarters in New York on Tuesday, January 4, 2022, to commemorate Ghana’s and four other countries’ appointment to the Security Council for a two-year term as non-permanent members, beginning in 2022.

The General Assembly elected Ghana, Gabon, Brazil, the United Arab Emirates, and Albania to serve on the Security Council as non-permanent members with effect from January 1, 2022. The General Assembly elected them in June.

Africa now has three representatives on the 15-member United Nations Security Council, with Kenya already having served on the body since January 2021. The two-year term of the East African country comes to an end at the end of December this year.

Ghana is expected to assume the presidency of the Council in November 2022.

On the day of the General Assembly vote, Ghana received the support of 185 countries out of 190 countries, which was more than any of the other five countries elected to the Security Council.

According to the final results, Gabon received 183 votes, Brazil received 181, the United Arab Emirates received 179 votes, and Albania received 175 votes.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.